Closing Encounters from the Dictation Module

Transcriptionists can have the right to close & archive encounters after they are done with the dictation attached to the encounter. This is a system setting that is off by default and must be turned on by your system administrator. Transcriptionists can archive & close encounters when done so that it helps the workflow or work load for the physician and the physician doesn’t have to go back in and archive/close it when transcription is done.

Physicians and other users cannot archive & close an encounter if dictation is attached to the encounter. The dictation has to be completed by the transcriptionists before any encounter can be closed & archived. A preliminary archive can be done, but after transcription is done, the transcriptionist can close/archive the encounter, or leave as is and the physician/user can close & archive it from their open encounters worklist (usually found in Omniscope tab).

Once a transcriptionist has completed all sections of the encounter dictation, the transcriptionist can

  1. “Create Preliminary Archive” of the document and let the physician archive and close the encounter.
  2. “Archive and Close Encounter” which will close the encounter exam. The final document is then sent to E-sign, Tasking or simply uploaded to the patients chart (this is a practice preference and automatic tasks or automatic e-sign requests are set up by the implementers or super-users)
  3. OR “Close” the encounter dictation, which will mark the dictation as complete.

If the user/physician created a preliminary archive, the options will appear below. The transcriptionist would click the Re-Archive & close encounter option to close & archive it.

The transcriptionist will be instructed by the Implementer, practice super-users or administrators as which option (Create Preliminary Archive (or Revision Preliminary Archive) or Archive and Close Encounter (or Re-Archive & Close Encounter) should be used. This is determined by office work and every practice is unique.

If the transcriber clicks the Create Preliminary Archive or the Archive and Close Encounter link, the transcriptionist is taken to the VIEW (or final document) in the chart. The screenshot above will still display on top of that document. Once the transcriptionist sees that the transcriptionist has been successfully made a preliminary document or successfully archived and closed the document, she can then mark the dictation file as complete by clicking the Close link. So, first an option must be clicked, then the close button must be clicked. Close does not mean you are closing the encounter. Close just means you are getting out of this dictation screen and are done.

If you don’t wish to do a preliminary archive or archive/close the encounter, then you can just click close. The user/physician then has to close & archive the encounter from their open encounters worklist.

Once the Close link has been clicked the transcriber can then click the X in the upper right hand corner of the screen and close the VIEW of the completed document. The transcriptionist will then return to the Unassigned/All Pending tab in the Dictation Module.

You MUST click the underlined Close link to close the dictation correctly and transfer the dictation file(s) to the appropriate tab.

Do not click the Red X box in the upper right hand corner of the dictation screen to close out. This will not properly close the dictation and will not place it in the appropriate completed dictation tab.

If you click the red X box by mistake, the dictation will remain in the Pending or Incomplete tab instead of being properly closed and put in the Completed tab.

The transcriptionist then proceeds with the next job.

See Encounter-Editing Dictation documentation for editing dictations. Should the transcriber have to edit an encounter dictation, the transcriber can either:

  1. “Revision Preliminary Archive”, if she only creates preliminary documents for the practice
  2. “Re-Archive and Close Encounter”, if she archives and closes the encounter for the practice.
  3. Simply “Close” the encounter dictation and mark it as complete.

If the “Revision Preliminary Archive” or ‘Re-Archive and Close Encounter” are selected, the transcriptionist will follow the same procedure (clicking the Close link, verifying the document was successfully created and then closing out of that screen) before continuing with the next job.

WebChart Documentation
Last Build: Wed, 08 Sep 2021 00:25:56 EDT Legacy Documentation