Managing Departments

View Departments

Click Control on the left sidebar menu.

Click Access Control tab at the top tabs.

Click View Departments link option at the top left.

You will see an alphabetized list of the Departments that exist in your WebChart system.

Click on the underlined Department name to open a list of the users that are set to this department.

Add a Department

Click Control on the left sidebar menu.

Click Access Control tab at the top tabs.

Click View Departments link option at the top left.

You will see an alphabetized list of the Departments that exist in your WebChart system. Click Add Department link towards the top right corner of this screen.

When you click Add Department, the Add Department screen fields will display.

NAME: Type is the full name of the department you wish to add.

VIEWABLE DEPARTMENTS: Then you must check any Viewable Departments that you want this department to be able to view. Make sure it’s own department is check-marked. Once the department is checked, the users in that department will be able to view anything that those other users in that department(s) are allowed to view. You can check-mark all of the departments by clicking the Check All Dept button. These viewable departments are primarily if a user is set to a security permission to view restricted departments only. For example, suppose I am an administrator (as my primary department) and my viewable departments are physicians and nurses, but not pharmacists. Then I cannot see anyone whose primary department is “pharmacists”. If the physicians department can view nurses, pharmacists and administrators, then a person whose primary department is “physicians” can view any pharmacist. If, as a primary administrator, I am also in the physicians department, I still cannot view anyone in the pharmacy department. If a dept is marked viewable, the user can see the other users within that department. Currently this is for NoMoreClipboard use only, however any |system| user may be set to be restricted to view specific department(s) only.

Then click Submit Dept. It will then say it was successfully loaded.

Delete/Inactivate a Department

Click Control on the left sidebar menu.

Click Access Control tab at the top tabs.

Click View Departments link option at the top left.

You will see an alphabetized list of the Departments that exist in your WebChart system.

Click Delete in the options column to delete a department.

When you delete a department, it does not actually delete it. It marks it as “inactive”.

It will ask you a confirmation that you really want to delete this department. Click Delete to proceed or cancel to escape and get out.

Reactivating a Deleted Department

If you ‘deleted’ a department (inactivated a department), and you need to put it back in as an active department, you click the Show Inactive link in the section title. This will display all active and deleted (inactive) departments in an alphabetized listing on the screen.

Find the department you want to re-activate and click Activate in the options column.

If you need a department completely and permanently deleted, you need to call MIE to have that done.

Edit a Department

Click Control on the left sidebar menu.

Click Access Control tab at the top tabs.

Click View Departments link option at the top left.

You will see an alphabetized list of the Departments that exist in your WebChart system.

Or click the link Edit in the options column of the department you wish to edit.

You will now be in the Edit Department screen fields.

NAME: You can change the name of the department by typing in a new name or correction, etc.

VIEWABLE DEPARTMENTS: You can edit by check-marking (or un-checkmarking) any Viewable Departments that you want this department to be able to view. Make sure it’s own department is check-marked. Once the department is checked, the users in that department will be able to view anything that those other users in that department(s) are allowed to view. You can check-mark all of the departments by clicking the Check All Dept button. These viewable departments are primarily if a user is set to a security permission to view restricted departments only. Currently this is for NoMoreClipboard use only, however any WebChart user may be set to be restricted to view specific department(s) only.

Click SUBMIT DEPT. button at the bottom. Your edits will now be saved for that department..

Tag or Delete Multiple Users on a Department

You can quickly tag multiple users to (in mass) or delete multiple users from (in mass) a specific department by going to “View Department”, clicking “edit” on the particular department and using the listedit & autocomplete feature there.

To add or remove users to/from a department in mass, click View Departments from the Access Control tab.

Find the department you wish to add mass users to or remove users from and click edit link.

In the edit screen, there is the Users in the ( ) Department section. This lists alphabetically (by last name) the names of the users that are currently a part of the department. To remove users from a department, simply click the [-] button next to their name in the options column.

You can add users to the department (in mass) by using the auto-complete field and when you find the user, click the ADD button. Continue to add more users to the department.

When you are done adding and/or removing users from the department, click the SUBMIT DEPT button to save your work.

WebChart Documentation
Last Build: Wed, 08 Sep 2021 00:26:00 EDT Legacy Documentation